EFNMS Awards

EFNMS Excellence Award for M.Sc. Thesis & Ph.D. Thesis in Maintenance

The EFNMS Excellence Award for Master Thesis’ in Maintenance was establish by the European Federation of National Maintenance Societies – EFNMS and Professor Uday Kumar from the Luela University. The Award is sponsored and supported by the Salvetti Foundation.

The objective of the EFNMS Excellence Award is to promote, encourage and motivate the theoretical and applied research and developments in different topics related to maintenance knowledge and practice amongst the students of the European Universities and Research Institutes. The primary areas of interest are Maintenance Engineering, Maintenance Management, Information and Communication Technologies for Maintenance, Maintenance Modeling Methods and Systems, Maintenance Services. The current edition of the Excellence Award will deliver two types of awards:

  • M.Sc. Thesis Award (MTA);
  • Ph.D. Thesis Award (PTA).
The candidate theses should be:
  • theses made to pursue the Master of Science (M.Sc.) degree;
  • theses made to pursue the Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degree.

The Awards will be presented during the EFNMS Euromaintenance Congress & Exhibition 2016, Athens , Greece. Professor Garetti and Professor Macchi from Politecnico di Milano are the Chairman and Secretary of the present Award Committee. The Awards are sponsored and supported by the Salvetti Foundation .

The National Coordinators are appointed to manage the collection and evaluation of candidate theses at country level; the National Coordinator will then send the best thesis at country level to the National Maintenance Society of the country, who in turn will send it to the Secretary, Award Committee, Prof. Marco Macchi (marco.garetti@polimi.it).

The winners of the EFNMS Excellence Award for Master Thesis in Maintenance 2014 Helsinki

 In 2014 at the EFNMS Euromaintenance Congress & Exhibition in Helsinki, the Award has been presented.

You will find the necessary information and the award winners in the link here

The winner of the EFNMS Excellence Award for Master Thesis in Maintenance 2012

During the opening ceremony of  the Euromaintenance 2012, the biennial EFNMS Maintenance Congress & Exhibition in Belgrade, the EFNMS Excellence Award 2012 for the Best Master Thesis in Maintenance was granted to Mr. Francesco Di Leone from Politecnico Di Milano for his Master Thesis entitled:

“Maintenance Service Maturity & Economic Value of ICT in maintenance activities”.


Professor Uday Kumar with the winner of the 2012 EFNMS Excellence Award Mr. Francesco Di Leone.

The winners from the previous years are:

  • Euromaintenance 2010, Verona 14–16 May, 2010

Mr. Juan Francisco Gomez Fernandez
The thesis proposes the design and development of the maintenance management framework considering all related issues and techniques of maintenance engineering and maintenance management.